After the last-minute goal by Toni Kroos to win the game against Sweden, this opened the group up for any team to qualify and even Mexico’s 6-point lead is not guaranteed for qualification.

Sweden needed to win, but Mexico needed a point or for Germany to lose.

Mexico started the game on the front foot with a few close chances with Carlos Vela almost scored but went wide in the 17th minute.

However, Sweden responded with a close chance in the 31st minute when Marcus Berg’s shot from close range was saved by the Mexican goalkeeper, Guillermo Ochoa, with his fingertips.

Both teams had chances on goal but were either wide or blocked which ended the first half goalless.

Sweden scored 5 minutes into the second half with Ludwig Augustinsson when Berg’s cross into the box was mishit by Viktor Claesson, but allowed the fullback to blast the ball into the net with a volley.

Mexico’s defence started to crumble after Hector Moreno conceded a penalty when he fouled Berg inside the box on the hour mark.

Andreas Granqvist, who scored the first penalty against South Korea, scored once again from the penalty spot for Sweden to gain their second goal of the game in the 62nd minute.

Sweden knew they needed more goals to gain a greater goal difference if Germany scored but it was an own goal by Edson Alvarez in the 74th minute after a Swedish throw on allowed Isaac Thelin to head the ball into the 6-yard box. 

Alvarez initially attempted clear the ball with his left foot but it hit off his right leg instead.

Mexico was in deep waters at this point because a German victory would eliminate Mexico.

The game ended with Mexican fans anxiously looking at their phones for the German and South Korean score line and towards the end news came in a goal.

South Korea received the goal and scored another to eliminate the 2014 World Champions with Mexico ending 2nd behind Sweden.

Source of Image: BBC


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply